SCO Defense Ministers Convene in Capital under Kazakh Chairmanship

The meeting of defense ministers from Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) member states has commenced in the capital.

This gathering falls under Kazakhstan’s leadership of the SCO and sees participation from defense leaders of India, Iran, China, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.

Notably, key figures including the Secretary General of the SCO, the Director of the Executive Committee of the SCO Regional Anti-Terrorism Structure, and the Minister of Defense of Belarus have also been invited to the proceedings.

The SCO traces its origins to agreements signed in the mid-1990s aimed at building trust and reducing military forces along borders. Initially named the “Shanghai Five,” it evolved into a broader regional cooperation structure following the Dushanbe Declaration in 2000, with Uzbekistan joining later.

Formally established in 2001, the SCO emphasizes cooperation for utilizing emerging opportunities and addressing challenges in a globalized world. It stresses openness, rejects hostility towards other states, and seeks dialogue and collaboration with international and regional organizations.

The SCO Charter, signed in 2002, forms the organization’s legal foundation, complemented by over 25 treaty and regulatory documents. These include agreements on the SCO budget, the Regional Anti-Terrorism Structure, and regulations governing various SCO bodies and personnel.




Back to top button