Five Medications Banned in Kazakhstan

Government implements changes to controlled substances list.

Kazakhstan has recently prohibited the use of five medications, according to government amendments to the list of controlled narcotic drugs, psychotropic substances, and precursors.

The updated document designates para-fluorofentanyl, brorphine, and metonitazene under the section of narcotic drugs, restricting their use for medical purposes.

Para-fluorofentanyl is a synthetic analgesic commonly utilized in anesthesiology, paramedicine, and disaster medicine, known for its addictive and physically dependent nature.

Brorphine, colloquially referred to as “purple heroin,” is a piperidine-based opioid analgesic, causing addiction when abused.

Metonitazene, a potent synthetic opioid, exhibits effects similar to heroin and fentanyl.

The resolution also includes the prohibition of two psychotropic substances: 3-methoxyphencyclidine and eutilone.

Phencyclidine, initially developed for intravenous anesthesia, was abandoned in clinical practice due to excessive toxicity, recognized in many countries as a narcotic drug and synthetic hallucinogen.

Eutilone, a synthetic psychostimulant, was added to the list of controlled substances in the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) countries in September.

Additionally, clonazolam, diclazepam, and flubromazolam are now under control as psychotropic substances for medical purposes. The list of controlled precursors includes 4-methylpropiophenone, a chemical and plant substance often used in the illicit production of narcotic drugs and psychotropic substances.

This resolution is set to take effect on February 6, 2024.





Back to top button