Title: Series of Earthquakes Hit Kyrgyz-Chinese Border Overnight

6 earthquakes of magnitude 5.5 to 8 were recorded on the Kyrgyz-Chinese border at night and in the morning.

In a sequence of seismic events on the Kyrgyz-Chinese border, a total of six earthquakes were recorded during the night and morning hours of January 23, TuraNews.kz reports citing the Kabar agency.

The Institute of Seismology of the National Academy of Sciences of the Kyrgyz Republic reported that the first earthquake occurred at 00:09 with a magnitude of 8. The epicenter was situated within Chinese territory, approximately 80 kilometers southeast of Kumtora, 140 kilometers southeast of Karakol, 160 kilometers southeast of the village of Kaji-Sai, 210 kilometers east of the city of Naryn, and 300 kilometers southeast of the city of Bishkek.

The intensity of the earthquake in various populated areas of the Kyrgyz Republic was reported as follows: Kumtor – 6 points, yr. Karakol, Kaji-Sai – 4.5 points, g. Naryn – 4 points, g. Bishkek – 3 points.

Subsequent earthquakes were registered at 00:42, 01:36 – 6 points, at 02:57 – 5 points, and in the morning at 05:19 – 6 points, and at 07:18 – 5.5 points.

The latest earthquake, occurring around 05:19, was felt in Kumtore with an intensity of about 3 points. As seismic activity continues in the region, authorities advise residents to stay informed about safety measures and emergency procedures. The Institute of Seismology continues to monitor the situation closely for any developments.




Back to top button